Citizen Science in Libraries: Fostering Community Connections on Citizen Science Day and Beyond

Reposted from the National Network of Libraries of Medicine.

Are you interested in citizen science? Are you looking for new ways to engage with your community members, and would you like to encourage science discovery with more of your users? If you answered yes to any of the above, then don’t miss this exciting webinar featuring Darlene Cavalier, professor of practice at Arizona State University and the founder of SciStarter, a citizen science database and platform. Darlene will describe several citizen science projects in public libraries in Arizona that are part of an IMLS grant, and she’ll share resources and information to spark ideas for your library. You will also learn about funding opportunities that may be available for health-related programs and citizen science projects through your NNLM regional medical library.

Citizen science enables people from all walks of life to engage in formal and informal research to advance fields spanning astronomy to zoology. This webinar will provide a general overview of citizen science, highlight recent activities to support libraries as community hubs for citizen science, and showcase free resources available to librarians who want to jump in now by promoting citizen science at libraries leading up to, during, and after Citizen Science Day on April 14.

Registrations are encouraged! This webinar is being hosted by the National Network of Libraries of Medicine, Pacific Southwest Region (NNLM PSR). If you haven’t taken an NNLM class or webinar before, you will be prompted to create a new account to register for this webinar. You may also go directly to the proper link below on Wednesday to attend the webinar. You will also learn about funding opportunities that may be available for health-related programs through your NNLM regional medical library. The webinar will be recorded for later viewing; please be sure to register if you would like to receive notice when the recording is available.

Date: Wednesday, April 4, 2018
Time: 9-10AM (Pacific and Arizona) | 10-11AM (Mountain) | 11AM-12PM (Central) | 12-1PM (Eastern) | 6-7AM (Hawaii) | 5-6AM (American Samoa) | 2-3AM Thursday (Guam)

Session number: 622 529 258
Session password: citizen

Categories: Other, webinar

Tags: , ,

About the Author

Darlene Cavalier

Darlene Cavalier

Darlene Cavalier is a Professor at Arizona State University's Center for Engagement and Training, part of the School for the Future of Innovation in Society. Cavalier is the founder of SciStarter. She is also the founder of Science Cheerleader, an organization of more than 300 current and former professional cheerleaders pursuing STEM careers, and a cofounder of ECAST: Expert and Citizen Assessment of Science and Technology, a network of universities, science centers, and think tanks that produces public deliberations to enhance science policymaking. She is a founding board member of the Citizen Science Association, a senior advisor at Discover Magazine, a member of the EPA's National Advisory Council for Environmental Policy and Technology, and was appointed to the National Academy of Sciences "Designing Citizen Science to Support Science Learning" committee. She is the author of The Science of Cheerleading and co-editor of The Rightful Place of Science: Citizen Science, published by Arizona State University. Darlene holds degrees from Temple University and the University of Pennsylvania and was a high school, college and NBA cheerleader. Darlene lives in Philadelphia with her husband and four children.